Glimpse Of Ireland

Glimpse of Ireland (2012-13)

Vacation Type: Guided – Brendan Vacations
Duration: 9 Days From: $1,299 land only

Tour Code: BRED12

Overview:

Take a glimpse of Ireland’s best as you travel from Dublin towards Castlebar and Connemara visiting the visually stunning Kylemore Abbey and Strokestown Park House. Then head south toward Limerick and Killarney experiencing Ireland’s finest scenic landscape and natural beauty found throughout the Cliffs of Moher and Ring of Kerry.

Vacation highlights include: Dublin, Ballina, Connemara, Killarney, Waterford

 

Your Travel Value Includes:

  • Airport transfers in Dublin on days 2 and 9
  • Twin-bedded rooms in hotels listed or similar; hotel taxes, service charges and tips for baggage handling
  • 7 Breakfasts (B), 1 Morning Coffee (MC) at Rathbaun Farm and 5 three-course Dinners with choice of entree and coffee or tea (D) including a Welcome Dinner (WD)
  • Services of a professional Irish Travel Director
  • Private luxury motorcoach with air conditioning, reclining seats and emergency restroom
  • Sightseeing, special features and scenic highlights as indicated in the itinerary, including admission charges Headsets for sightseeing so you can easily hear your guide’s commentary hidden delight
  • Portfolio of travel documents
  • Souvenir group photo

 

 

Itinerary:

DAY 1 – Depart USA

Board your overnight transatlantic flight (cost not included in land only price).

DAY 2 – Arrive in Dublin, Ireland

Welcome to Dublin! At 2 p.m. begin a city tour. Visit St. Patrick’s Cathedral and walk the courtyards of Trinity College to its library and world treasure, the 8th century Book of Kells. This evening, join your Travel Director and fellow travelers for a Welcome Dinner with wine. (Welcome Dinner)

DAY 3 – Dublin / The Midlands / Ballina

Cross midland Ireland and visit Strokestown Park House. This grand 18th-century estate still has its original furnishings. The Famine Museum, designed to commemorate The Great Irish Famine of the 1840s, is located in the former stable yards of the house. Continue on to County Mayo to visit the Shrine at Knock. Finally head to your hotel in the town of Ballina, set on the River Moy. (Breakfast, Dinner)

DAY 4 – Ballina / Connemara

Travel to the picturesque town of Westport, then on to Connemara, Ireland’s historic western province, with its whitewashed cottages, mountains and rivers. Visit Kylemore Abbey, a neo-Gothic mansion, occupied since 1920 by Irish Benedictine nuns. This evening, relax at your elegant hotel on Galway Bay. (Breakfast, Dinner)

DAY 5 – Connemara / Galway / Cliffs of Moher / Killarney

This morning visit Galway Cathedral before dropping in for refreshments at Rathbaun Farm. Then travel west to the spectacular Cliffs of Moher, rising 700 feet above the pounding Atlantic waves. Later, take the Tarbert Ferry across the Shannon estuary and continue on to Killarney. (Breakfast, Morning Coffee, Dinner)

DAY 6 – Ring of Kerry Excursion

Travel the road that winds around the beautiful Iveragh Peninsula, better known as the Ring of Kerry. Stopping at Torc Waterfall, there is a chance to join a leisurely guided hike. You walk along the lakeshore and past the farmlands of the Muckross Estate. For those who do not want to join the hike, the motorcoach will return you to Killarney. The rest of the day is free. (Breakfast) NOTE: The hike travels over wooded paths and lakeshore trails. While there are no mountains to climb, walkers need to be fit, have good walking shoes or boots, sunscreen and raingear.

DAY 7 – Killarney / Blarney / Waterford

Stop at Blarney Castle and perhaps kiss the famous stone that bestows the gift of eloquence. There’s time to shop at the Blarney Woolen Mills, then on to Waterford. Visit the House of Waterford Crystal for an interesting visual journey of over 225 years of glassmaking. (Breakfast, Dinner)

DAY 8 – Waterford / Dublin

Meet local Jack Burtchaell and hear about a gallery of rogues and rascals, all delivered in an entertaining style by a master storyteller. Then, return to Dublin. Make a stop at the Guinness Storehouse and discover what goes into making a pint of Guinness. Your evening is free. (Breakfast)

DAY 9 – Depart Dublin

Transfer to the airport where your vacation ends. (Breakfast)

Prices & Dates
Sat, Apr 14, 2012 Sun, Apr 22, 2012 $1,565
Sat, Apr 28, 2012 Sun, May 6, 2012 $1,625
Sat, May 5, 2012 Sun, May 13, 2012 $1,625
Sat, May 12, 2012 Sun, May 20, 2012 $1,650
Sat, May 19, 2012 Sun, May 27, 2012 $1,650
Sat, May 26, 2012 Sun, Jun 3, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Jun 2, 2012 Sun, Jun 10, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Jun 9, 2012 Sun, Jun 17, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Jun 16, 2012 Sun, Jun 24, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Jun 23, 2012 Sun, Jul 1, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Jun 23, 2012 Sun, Jul 1, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Jun 30, 2012 Sun, Jul 8, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Jul 7, 2012 Sun, Jul 15, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Jul 14, 2012 Sun, Jul 22, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Jul 28, 2012 Sun, Aug 5, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Aug 11, 2012 Sun, Aug 19, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Aug 11, 2012 Sun, Aug 19, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Aug 18, 2012 Sun, Aug 26, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Aug 25, 2012 Sun, Sep 2, 2012 $1,650
Sat, Sep 1, 2012 Sun, Sep 9, 2012 $1,699
Sat, Sep 8, 2012 Sun, Sep 16, 2012 $1,699
Sat, Sep 15, 2012 Sun, Sep 23, 2012 $1,699
Sat, Sep 22, 2012 Sun, Sep 30, 2012 $1,699
Sat, Sep 29, 2012 Sun, Oct 7, 2012 $1,599
Sat, Oct 6, 2012 Sun, Oct 14, 2012 $1,599
Sat, Oct 13, 2012 Sun, Oct 21, 2012 $1,585
Sat, Oct 20, 2012 Sun, Oct 28, 2012 $1,585
Additional Information:
Per person prices are land only and based on two people sharing a room. Your Brendan Specialist will quote you the lowest airfare available from your hometown at the time of booking.

Single room supplement: $375 (Mar 10); $425 (Apr-Oct); $350 (Nov-Mar 2013)
Triple room reduction: $35
Early Payment Discount: 12 months $160; 10 months $120; 6 months $80
Second Vacation Discount: up to $85
Young Traveler Discount: $160

Hotels
Hotels:
Dublin The Burlington
Ballina Downhill House Hotel
Connemara Connemara Coast Hotel
Killarney Killarney Towers
Killarney Killarney Towers
Waterford Dooleys
Dublin The Burlington